Remind me to draw graphs about this when I’m awake…

So today was the first day of presentations at the Revolutionary Sex Conference put on by the Society for the Scientific Study of Sexuality and all of the presentations I went to were great. I think one concept introduced in the first lecture I went to could be used to help visualize what grey-a and demisexuality look like using Dr. Jack Morin’s model of love/lust splits.

I don’t have the time or energy to write the entry that this thought deserves right now but I took some notes during the lecture about it and I’ll try to write something more in-depth about it before I drive back to Arizona.

In the mean time I think many people would really enjoy Dr. Morin’s book “The Erotic Mind: Unlocking the Inner Sources of Sexual Passion and Fulfillment”.. obviously the book’s overall concept may be more relevant to some people than others (you can find most of the book available for preview here). In Chapter 2 (starting on page 48) he talks about the difference between what he calls “Lusty Attraction” and “Romantic Attraction” (which seems to me like an underrepresented idea in sexology so I was glad to see it). Also, in chapter 6 (which starts on page 171) he talks about his model of love/lust splits which I think I can apply to people who identify as gray-a, demisexual and, to a lesser extent, to asexuals… but only if I’m using the standard model for a means of comparison (that is to say that I think I could show a relationship between what a model would look like for asexuals as compared to the standard model but if I were going to create a whole new chart I don’t think it would be ideal).

I spoke to Dr. Morin briefly during a break and asked him about the various models I had sketched and he was reluctant to say if he thought my models could be used to represent people who were asexual but he did say that the models did make sense for showing variations in sexuality. Dr. Morin being reluctant to make any definitive statements on using his model to potentially describe variations of sexuality on the asexual end of the spectrum was actually a really good sign- he wasn’t sure about it, he wasn’t immediately familiar with the terms demisexuality or “gray-a” (they probably rarely or never overlap with his particular area of research) so his decision not to make any definitive statements on the subject was probably the best answer. I will try to draw out a clean copy of my charts and talk to him about them again later when I’ve had more time to think about it… and I’m not sleep deprived.

…Someone remind me to write more about this if I don’t get a chance to write about it before starting back for Arizona (there are going to be a lot of early mornings and late nights while I’m here so I’m not sure where I think I’ll get the time to write it before I go back, but I’ll do my best!) If anyone else is familiar with Jack’s work on the subject of love/lust splits I’d love to talk to you about my ideas, too!

(P.S. if you’re on my mailing list and you didn’t get an e-mail about this there’s nothing wrong,  I just didn’t think that a post about how I’m going to write another post was worth e-mailing people about 🙂 )

This entry was posted in Asexual, Asexuality, Sexologist, Sexology, Sexuality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Remind me to draw graphs about this when I’m awake…

  1. Shawn Landis says:

    So, was sitting next to Anthony Boegart the equivalent of me sitting next to Hunter S. Thompson?

Leave a Reply

